Your cart


Your cart is currently empty.


Wag Your Tail Records

The Specials


save 0

Share on

Artist - The Specials

Title - The Specials (Self Titled)

Format - 180-Gram Single Vinyl LP

Label - 2 Tone Records


The Specials is the debut album by British ska revival band The Specials. Originally released on 19 October 1979 on label, the album 2 Tone Reords is seen by some as the defining moment in the UK ska scene.

Produced by Elvis Costello, the album captures the disaffection and anger felt by the youth of the UK's "concrete jungle"—a phrase borrowed from Bob Mareley's 1973 album Catch a Fire —used to describe the grim, violent inner cities of 1970s Britain. The album features a mixture of original material and several covers of classic Jamaican ska tracks.


The Specials was ranked among the top ten "Albums of the Year" for 1979 by NME. In June 2000 Q placed The Specials at number 38 in its list of the 100 greatest British albums ever.  Pitchfork Media featured The Specials at number 42 in their list of the "Top 100 Albums of the 1970s". Rolling Stone listed the album at number 68 in their list "100 Best Albums of the Eighties", as the album was not released in the US until 1980.


A1 A Message To You Rudy
A2 Do The Dog
A3 It's Up To You
A4 Nite Klub
A5 It Doesn't Make It Alright
A6 Concrete Jungle
A7 Too Hot
B1 Monkey Man
B2 (Dawning Of A) New Era
B3 Blank Expression
B4 Stupid Marriage
B5 Too Much Too Young
B6 Little Bitch
B7 You're Wondering Now