Your cart


Your cart is currently empty.


Wag Your Tail Records

The Replacements - Sorry Ma Forgot to Take Out the Trash


save 0

Share on

Artist - The Replacements

Title - Sorry Ma Forgot to Take Out the Trash

Format - Single Vinyl LP

Label - Rhino

2016 Reissue

UPC - 081227954734


When the Replacements made their way into Twin City's underground rock scene, they were initially lumped in with the local hardcore crowd, but their debut album, 1981's Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out the Trash was obviously made of different things.

Paul Westerberg's sloppy, full-bodied rhythm guitar gave Bob Stinson plenty of room for his repurposed Steve Howe licks, Tommy Stinson's basslines were lively and carried their share of the melody, and drummer Chris Mars had the stamina and the muscle to keep up with it all.

Though the Replacements sounded scrappy and exciting here, what truly set them apart was Westerberg's songs -- they were clever, funny, and self-deprecating, the work of a young man with a fully functioning bullshit detector whose arrogance about his talent was balanced by his obvious insecurities about life, work, women, and himself. 

Westerberg was more than willing to rage ("Careless," "Takin' a Ride," "Don't Ask Why") and occasionally wear his heart on his sleeve ("Customer," "Johnny's Gonna Die"), though he knew folks would only stick around if he was funny, and Sorry Ma is very funny indeed, and genuinely inspiring in its sloppy but heartfelt wallop. 


A1 Takin A Ride 2:23
A2 Careless 1:08
A3 Customer 1:29
A4 Hangin Downtown 2:00
A5 Kick Your Door Down 3:05
A6 Otto 2:07
A7 I Bought A Headache 2:25
A8 Rattlesnake 1:30
A9 I Hate Music 1:38
B1 Johnny's Gonna Die 3:30
B2 Shiftless When Idle 2:16
B3 More Cigarettes 1:15
B4 Don't Ask Why 1:50
B5 Something To Dü 1:36
B6 I'm In Trouble 2:07
B7 Love You Till Friday 1:51
B8 Shutup 1:20
B9 Raised In The City 1:56



Have Your Vinyl Record Ultrasonically Cleaned Before Shipment

Have Your Vinyl Record Ultrasonically Cleaned Before Shipment


Ultrasonic Cleaning

Your vinyl record will be cleaned by the Degritter 120kHz ultrasonic cleaning system. It has been carefully designed to make sure that records are cleaned thoroughly and without any damage to the surface of the record.

Ultrasonic cleaning works by creating a large number of microscopical bubbles in the cleaning bath, a phenomena called cavitation. The bubbles are a vacuum created by high frequency pressure waves moving through the water.

Every ultrasonic cycle bubbles are formed and collapsed, releasing energy as heat and minuscule strong water jets. These effects combined thoroughly clean all surfaces down to a microscopic level.

Cost of service is per vinyl record.  For example, Double LP records will require TWO cleaning service purchases. Price will include a new antistatic sleeve.