Your cart


Your cart is currently empty.


Wag Your Tail Records

Meters - A Message from the Meters The Complete Josie Reprise & Warner Bros. Singles 1968-1977


save 0

Share on

Artist - The Meters

Title -  Message from the Meters The Complete Josie Reprise & Warner Bros. Singles 1968-1977

Format - 3x Vinyl LPs

Label - Real Gone Music


 How would you like to hear a new side—or should we say sides—of the world’s greatest funk band? This 3-LP, 40-track collecton presents the A and B-side of every single that organist Art Neville, guitarist Leo Nocentelli, bassist George Porter, Jr., and drummer Joseph “Zigaboo” Modeliste cut for the Josie, Reprise & Warner Bros. label, virtually their entire singles output (all but two co-produced by the late, great Allen Toussaint) save for a few odds ‘n’ ends issued mostly overseas.

That means that you not only get every hit along with its hard-to-find B-side but also the rare single mixes, including the especially rare original mono single mixes of the 1968-1971 Josie sides, very few of which have appeared on vinyl since their original 45 release (the first three LP sides are all mono; the last three, featuring the later Reprise and Warner Bros. singles, presents all stereo single mixes).

These songs represent the mother lode of New Orleans funk, classic tracks like “Sophisticated Cissy,” “Cissy Strut,” “Look-Ka Py Py,” “Chicken Strut,” “Hand Clapping Song,” “Hey Pocky A-Way,” and more. And, with liner notes by Bill Dahl featuring quotes from Nocentelli, Neville, and Porter, this 3- LP set offers the best vinyl retrospective to date of this enormously influential band. 


A1 Sophisticated Cissy 2:50
A2 Sehorns Farms 2:26
A3 Cissy Strut 3:02
A4 Here Comes The Meter Man 2:50
A5 Ease Back 3:15
A6 Ann 2:43
A7 Dry Spell 2:06
A8 Little Old Money Maker 2:53
B1 Look-Ka Py Py 3:02
B2 This Is My Last Affair 2:52
B3 Chicken Strut 2:46
B4 Hey! Last Minute 3:00
B5 Hand Clapping Song 2:59
B6 Joog 2:11
C1 A Message From The Meters 2:44
C2 Zony Mash 3:01
C3 Stretch Your Rubber Band 2:43
C4 Groovy Lady 2:50
C5 (The World Is A Bit Under The Weather) Doodle-Oop 2:30
C6 I Need More Time 3:14
C7 Good Old Funky Music 3:22
C8 Sassy Lady 2:40
D1 Do The Dirt 2:36
D2 Smiling 3:09
D3 Cabbage Alley 3:29
D4 The Flower 4:51
D5 Chug Chug Chug-A-Log (Push N' Shove) (Part I) 3:29
D6 Chug Chug Chug-A-Lug (Push N' Shove) (Part II) 3:28
E1 Hey Pocky A-Way 3:27
E2 Africa 3:39
E3 People Say 3:10
E4 Loving You Is On My Mind 3:16
E5 They All Ask'd For You 3:58
E6 Running Fast (Long Version) 3:28
F1 Disco Is The Thing Today 4:13
F2 Mr. Moon 3:59
F3 Trick Bag 3:17
F4 Find Yourself 4:09
F5 Be My Lady 3:30
F6 No More Okey Doke 4:20

Companies, etc.