Your cart


Your cart is currently empty.


Wag Your Tail Records

Chris Stapleton - Traveler


save 0

Share on

Artist - Chris Stapleton

Title  - Traveler

Format - 2 LP Vinyl

Label - Mercury Nashville


Like many country troubadours, Chris Stapleton cut his teeth as a songwriter in Nashville, churning out tunes that wound up hits in the hands of others. Kenny Chesney brought "Never Wanted Anything More" to number one and Darius Rucker had a hit with "Come Back Song," but those associations suggest Stapleton would toe a mainstream line when he recorded his 2015 debut, Traveler.

This release, produced by Dave Cobb, however, suggests something rougher and rowdier -- an Eric Church without a metallic fixation or a Sturgill Simpson stripped of arty psychedelic affectations. Some of this smoothness derives from Stapleton's supple singing. As the rare songwriter-for-hire who also has considerable performance chops, Stapleton is sensitive to the needs of an individual song, something that is evident when he's covering "Tennessee Whiskey". 


 He has a variety of songs here, too, casually switching gears between bluegrass waltz, Southern rockers, crunching blues, soulful slow-burners, and swaggering outlaw anthems -- every one of them belonging to a tradition, but none sounding musty due to Stapleton's casualness. Never once does he belabor his range, nor does he emphasize the sharply sculpted songs. Everything flows naturally, and that ease is so alluring upon the first spin of Traveler that it's not until repeated visits that the depth of the album becomes apparent.  




A1 – Traveler – 3:42

A2 – Fire Away – 4:04

A3 - Tennessee Whiskey - 4:52

A4 – Parachute - 4:13

B1 - Whiskey And You - 3:56

B2 - Nobody To Blame - 4:04

B3 - More Of You – 4:37

B4 - When The Stars Come Out – 4:16

C1 - Daddy Doesn't Pray Anymore – 4:09

C2 - Might As Well Get Stoned – 4:37

C3 - Was It 26 – 4:49

D1 - The Devil Named Music – 6:07

D2 - Outlaw State Of Mind – 5:37

D3 -Sometimes I Cry – 4:02

Have Your Vinyl Record Ultrasonically Cleaned Before Shipment

Have Your Vinyl Record Ultrasonically Cleaned Before Shipment


Ultrasonic Cleaning

Your vinyl record will be cleaned by the Degritter 120kHz ultrasonic cleaning system. It has been carefully designed to make sure that records are cleaned thoroughly and without any damage to the surface of the record.

Ultrasonic cleaning works by creating a large number of microscopical bubbles in the cleaning bath, a phenomena called cavitation. The bubbles are a vacuum created by high frequency pressure waves moving through the water.

Every ultrasonic cycle bubbles are formed and collapsed, releasing energy as heat and minuscule strong water jets. These effects combined thoroughly clean all surfaces down to a microscopic level.

Cost of service is per vinyl record.  For example, Double LP records will require TWO cleaning service purchases. Price will include a new antistatic sleeve.