Your cart


Your cart is currently empty.


Wag Your Tail Records

Charles Mingus - The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady


save 0

Share on

Artist - Charles Mingus

Title - The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady

Format - 180-Gram Vinyl LP

Label - Verve Acoustic Sounds Series

Mastered by Ryan Smith


Described by Mingus himself as “ethnic folk-dance music,” The Black Saint & The Sinner Lady is a single song cycle rather than a traditional jazz album of separate tracks.

The intricate arrangements and raw emotional swings of the piece make it a highlight of Mingus’ career, and one of the most compelling listens in jazz.


A1 Solo Dancer (Stop! Look! And Listen, Sinner Jim Whitney!) 6:20
A2 Duet Solo Dancers (Hearts' Beat And Shades In Physical Embraces) 6:25
A3 Group Dancers ((Soul Fusion) Freewoman And Oh, This Freedom's Slave Cries) 7:00
B1 Trio And Group Dancers (Stop! Look! And Sing Songs Of Revolutions!)
B2 Single Solos And Group Dance (Saint And Sinner Join In Merriment On Battle Front)
B3 Group And Solo Dance (Of Love, Pain, And Passioned Revolt, Then Farewell, My Beloved, Til It's Freedom Day)